Council holden in the Guildhall of the City of
London on Thursday 25th April 2019, doth
hereby appoint the following Committee until
the first meeting of the Court in April, 2020.

POLICE AUTHORITY BOARD

1. Constitution

A non-ward committee consisting of:

- 11 Members elected by the Court of Common Council including:
 - a minimum of one Member who has fewer than five years' service on the Court at the time of his/her appointment; and,
 - o a minimum of two Members whose primary residence is in the City of London;
- 2 external members (i.e. non-Members of the Court of Common Council) appointed in accordance with the terms of the Police Authority Board Membership Scheme

Quorum

The quorum consists of any five Members.

3. Membership 2019/20

- 18 (4) Simon D'Olier Duckworth, O.B.E., D.L.
- 4 (4) Christopher Michael Hayward
- 18 (4) Ian David Luder, J.P., Alderman
- 5 (3) Nicholas Michael Bensted-Smith, J.P.
- 4 (3) Keith David Forbes Bottomley, Deputy
- 11 (3) Alison Jane Gowman, Alderman
- 2 (2) Tijs Broeke
- 2 (2) Emma Edhem, Alderman
- 10 (1) Douglas Barrow
- 14 (1) James Henry George Pollard, Deputy
- 5 (1) James Michael Douglas Thomson, Deputy

Together with two non-City of London Corporation Members:-

Andrew Lentin (appointed for a four-year term to expire in September 2021) Deborah Oliver (appointed for a four-year term to expire in September 2022)

4. Terms of Reference

To be responsible for:-

- (a) securing an efficient and effective police service in both the City of London and, where so designated by the Home Office, nationally, and holding the Commissioner to account for the exercise of his/her functions and those persons under his/her direction and control;
- (b) agreeing, each year, the objectives in the Policing Plan, which shall have regard to the views of local people, the views of the Commissioner and the Strategic Policing Requirement;
- (c) any powers and duties vested in the Court of Common Council as police authority for the City of London by virtue of the City of London Police Act 1839, the Police and Criminal Evidence Act 1984, the Police Acts 1996 (as amended) and 1997, the Criminal Justice and Police Act 2001, the Police Reform Act 2002, the Police Reform and Social Responsibility Act 2011 and any other Act or Acts, Statutory Instruments, Orders in Council, Rules or byelaws etc. from time to time in force, save the appointment of the Commissioner of Police which by virtue of Section 3 of the City of London Police Act 1839 remains the responsibility of the Common Council;
- (d) making recommendations to the Court of Common Council regarding the appointment of the Commissioner of the City of London Police;
- (e) the handling of complaints and the maintenance of standards across the Force;
- (f) monitoring of performance against the City of London Policing Plan;
- (g) appointing such committees as are considered necessary for the better performance of its duties.
- (h) To appoint the Chairman of the Police Pensions Board.